Edited by Eric M. Jones and Ken Glover.

Dedication: To Di and HP, the sources of my serenity;
and to the memory of my uncle, Leslie M. Jones,
who explored the upper atmosphere with rocket-borne instruments
and excited my interest in space.

The Apollo Lunar Surface Journal is a record of the lunar surface operations conducted by the six pairs of astronauts who landed on the Moon from 1969 through 1972. The Journal is intended as a resource for anyone wanting to know what happened during the missions and why. It includes a corrected transcript of all recorded conversations between the lunar surface crews and Houston. The Journal also contains extensive, interwoven commentary by the Editor and by ten of the twelve moonwalking astronauts.

The Apollo Lunar Surface Journal was inspired by the work of New Zealand historian J.C. Beaglehole, the 20th Century's foremost authority on the European exploration of the Pacific and, particularly, on the voyages of Captain James Cook.

Regular journal readers would be best to view the journal using a current version of one of the commonly used Web browsers - such as Firefox - as the journal makes use of some of the newer multimedia features. A current version of QuickTime or its equivalent is needed to play the video clips; and Real Media Player can be used to stream audio and video clips. In some circumstances, multimedia files which may not open with a reader's default software can be opened and played with VLC (VideoLAN Client). Free downloads are available for all these players.


Please don't hesitate to let us know about errors. We want to get it right, but sometimes that can take a while. We would like to thank everyone for their help and patience.

Now you've read all the preliminary information,
click on the Apollo Program Patch

to the right of this message to take you to the main homepage of the Apollo Lunar Surface Journal.
Journal enter

Multimedia by Frederic Artner, Adam Bootle, Dave Byrne, Jonathan Cantin, René Cantin, Mike Constantine, Ian Cossor, Ron Creel, Peter Dayton, Erwin D'Hoore, Karl Dodenhoff, Kevin Frank, Mauro Freschi, Ken Glover, Rob Godwin, Dave Hardin, David Harland, Marv Hein, Derek Henderson, Ed Hengeveld, Mick Hyde, John Kaufmann, Matthew Kay, Siegfried Kessler, Ulrich Lotzmann, Colin Mackellar, Ken MacTaggart, Brian McInall, Don McMillan, Gerald Megason, Markus Mehring, Erik van Meijgaarden, Gary Neff, Eric Nelson, Frank O'Brien, Joe O'Dea, Phill Parker, John Pfannerstill, J.L. Pickering, Ken Rattee, Gordon Roxburgh, Ricardo Salame, Jim Scotti, Dave Shaffer, Roland Speth, Glen Swanson, Kipp Teague, Lennie Waugh, Ron and Chris Wells, Bill Wood, David Woods, and Yuri Krasilnikov

Page design by Gordon Roxburgh and Brian Lawrence.

Regretably, the ALSJ DVD-ROM is no longer available. Production was by Ken Glover and proofreading by Thierry Bisiaux, Derek Henderson, Harald Kucharek, Brian Lawrence, Ulli Lotzmann, Colin Mackellar, Ken MacTaggart, Don McMillan, Frank O'Brien, John Pfannerstill, Jim Scotti, Roland Speth, Kipp Teague, and David Woods

NASA Host: Steve Garber

Copyright © 1995-2013 by Eric M. Jones.
All rights reserved.
Last revised 12 November 2013.