Skip main navigation.

Office of Investigations

Field Offices

The Office of Investigations is responsible for conducting investigations on allegations of crime, cyber-crime, fraud, waste, abuse, and misconduct having impact on NASA programs, projects, operations, and resources. OI refers its findings either to the Department of Justice for prosecution or to NASA management for action. Through its investigations, OI identifies crime indicators and recommends effective measures for NASA management that are designed to reduce NASA’s vulnerability to criminal activity. The Office of Investigations is comprised of Headquarters and four geographic Field Offices including a Computer Crimes Division. See link to Field Offices for investigative and geographical areas of responsibility.


Eastern Field Office (EFO) - Click tab to expand and collapse.

The Eastern Field Office is responsible for conducting criminal investigations in which NASA is a victim. The EFO also performs investigations involving waste and mismanagement.

CT, DC, DE, IL, IN, KY, MA, MD, ME, MI, NC, NH, NJ, NY, OH, PA, RI, VA, VT, WI, WV

Map of eastern field offices

Michael W. Sonntag, EFO Special Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Langley Research Center
Mail Stop 205, Building 1149 (Investigations)
Hampton VA 23681-2199
Voice: 757-864-8116; Fax: 757-864-9705
E-mail: Michael.W.Sonntag@nasa.gov

Curtis Vaughn, GSFC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Goddard Space Flight Center
Code 190, Building 1 - Investigations
Greenbelt, MD 20771-0001
Voice: 301-286-7776; Fax: 301-286-0355
E-mail: Curtis.W.Vaughn@nasa.gov

Michelle L. McGhee, NJPOD Special Agent
NASA Office of Inspector General
Federal Courthouse Building
402 E. State Street, Suite 3036
Trenton, NJ 08608
Voice: 609-656-2543; Fax 609-656-2546
E-mail: Michelle.L.Mcghee@nasa.gov

Kevin Rhoads, GSFC Management Analyst
NASA Office of Inspector General
Goddard Space Flight Center
Code 190, Building 1 - Investigations
Greenbelt, MD 20771-0001
Voice: 301-286-9316; Fax: 301-286-0355
E-mail: Kevin.C.Rhoads@nasa.gov

Mark F. Voegelin, LaRC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Langley Research Center
Mail Stop 205, Building 1149 (Investigations)
Hampton, VA 23681-2199
Voice: 757-864-3267; Fax: 757-864-9705
E-mail: Mark.F.Voegelin@nasa.gov

Noreen A. Laccheo, LaRC Program Assistant
NASA Office of Inspector General
Langley Research Center
Mail Stop 205, Building 1149 (Investigations)
Hampton, VA 23681-2199
Voice: 757-864-3263; Fax: 757-864-9705
E-mail: Noreen.A.Laccheo@nasa.gov

Mark Zielinski, GRC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Glenn Research Center
Mail Stop 14-9, Building 14 (Investigations)
Cleveland OH 44135-3191
Voice: 216-433-5414; Fax: 216-977-7030
E-mail: Mark.J.Zielinski@nasa.gov

Debra A. Schuerger, GRC Program Assistant
NASA Office of Inspector General
Glenn Research Center
Mail Stop 14-9, Building 14 (Investigations)
Cleveland OH 44135-3191
Voice: 216-433-2364; Fax: 216-977-7030
E-mail: Debra.Schuerger@nasa.gov

Central Field Office (CFO) - Click tab to expand and collapse.

The Central Field Office is responsible for conducting criminal investigations in which NASA is a victim. The CFO also performs investigations involving waste and mismanagement.

AL, AR, FL, GA, IA, KS, LA, MN, MO, MS, ND, NE, NM, OK, SC, SD, TN, TX

Map of central field offices

John H. Corbett, CFO Special Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Johnson Space Center
Code W-JS2, Building 45 - Investigations
Houston TX 77058-3696
Voice: 281-244-1153; Fax: 281-244-6999
E-mail: john.h.corbett@nasa.gov

Vacant, JSC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Johnson Space Center
Code W-JS2, Building 45 - Investigations
Houston TX 77058-3696
Voice: 281-483-7637; Fax: 281-483-6999

Deborah S. Qualls, CFO Program Assistant
NASA Office of Inspector General
Johnson Space Center
Code W-JS2, Building 45 - Investigations
Houston TX 77058-3696
Voice: 281-483-8427; Fax: 281-244-6999
E-mail: deborah.s.qualls@nasa.gov

Patricia A. Searle, KSC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Kennedy Space Center
Mail Stop KSC/OIG (Investigations)
Kennedy Space Center FL 32815-0001
Voice: 321-867-4064; Fax: 321-867-4085
E-mail: patricia.a.searle@nasa.gov

Amy M. Young, KSC Program Assistant
NASA Office of Inspector General
Mail Stop KSC/OIG (Investigations)
Kennedy Space Center, FL 32815-0001
Voice: 321-867-4714; Fax: 321-867-4085
E-mail: Amy.M.Young@nasa.gov

David J. Balwinski, MSFC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Marshall Space Flight Center
Mail Stop M-DI, Building 4201
P.O. Box 9032
Marshall Space Flight Center AL 35812-0001
Voice: 256-544-0072; Fax: 256-544-8561
E-mail: David.J.Balwinski@nasa.gov

Marcia S. Fox, SSC Special Agent
NASA Office of Inspector General
Stennis Space Center
Building 3101, Room 119
Stennis Space Center, MS 39529
Voice: 228-688-1493; Fax: 228-688-3136
E-mail: Marcia.S.Fox@nasa.gov

Angeline R. Summers, MSFC Program Assistant
NASA Office of Inspector General
Marshall Space Flight Center
Mail Stop M-DI, Building 4201
P.O. Box 9032
Marshall Space Flight Center, AL 35812-0001
Voice: 256-544-0068; Fax: 256-544-8561
E-mail: Angeline.R.Summers@nasa.gov

Western Field Office (WFO) - Click tab to expand and collapse.

The Western Field Office is responsible for conducting criminal investigations in which NASA is a victim. The WFO also performs investigations involving waste and mismanagement.

AK, AZ, CA, CO, HI, ID, MT, NV, OR, UT, WA, WY

Map of western field offices

Keith Tate, WFO Special Agent in Charge
Glenn Anderson Federal Building
NASA Office of Inspector General
501 West Ocean Boulevard, Suite 5120
Long Beach CA 90802-4222
Voice: 562-951-5486; Fax: 562-980-3054
E-mail: Keith.Tate@nasa.gov

Chad D. Weston, LB Resident Agent in Charge
Glenn Anderson Federal Building
NASA Office of Inspector General
501 West Ocean Boulevard, Suite 5120
Long Beach CA 90802-4222

Michael Harrison, JPL Special Agent
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
NASA Office of Inspector General
4800 Oak Grove Drive
MS-180-203
Pasadena, CA 91109-8099
Voice: 818-354-6630; Fax: 818-393-4271
E-mail: Michael.harrison@jpl.nasa.gov

Margaret I. Bermudez, WFO Program Assistant
Glenn Anderson Federal Building
NASA Office of Inspector General
501 West Ocean Boulevard, Suite 5120
Long Beach CA 90802-4222
Voice: 562-951-5480; Fax: 562-980-3054
E-mail: Margarita.Bermudez@jpl.nasa.gov

Helen Koh, ARC Resident Agent in Charge
Ames Research Center
NASA Office of Inspector of Inspector General
MS 207-11 (Investigations)
Moffett Federal Airfield CA 94035-1000
Voice: 650-604-3682; Fax: 650-604-2319
E-mail: Helen.H.Koh@nasa.gov

Computer Crimes Division (CCD) - Click tab to expand and collapse.

The Computer Crimes Division is responsible for conducting criminal investigations in which NASA is a victim and connected primarily to computers and information technology.

Eastern Region: AL, CT, DC, DE, FL, GA, IL, IN, KY, MA, MD, ME, MI, MS, NC, NH, NJ, NY,
OH, PA, SC, TN, VA, WI, WV, VT

Western Region: AK, AR, AZ, CA, CO, HI, IA, ID, KS, LA, MN, MO, MT, ND, NE, NM, NV, OK,
OR, SD, TX, UT, WA, WY

Map of western field offices

Robert H. Steinau, Special Agent in Charge,
NASA Office of Inspector General, CCD
NASA Headquarter
300 E. Street, SW
Washington DC 20546-0001
Voice: 202-358-0374; Fax: 202-358-3914
E-mail: robert.steinau@nasa.gov

Vacant, Laboratory Chief
NASA Office of Inspector General, CCD
NASA Headquarter
300 E. Street, SW
Washington DC 20546-0001
Voice: 202-358-2987; Fax: 202-358-3914

Donna M. Woods, CCD Program Specialist,
NASA Office of Inspector General, CCD
NASA Headquarter
300 E. Street, SW
Washington DC 20546-0001
Voice: 202-358-2556; Fax: 202-358-3914
E-mail: donna.woods@nasa.gov

J. Luther Perry, CCD Eastern Region,
GSFC Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General, CCD
Goddard Space Flight Center
Greenbelt, MD 20771-0001
Voice: 301-286-3358; Fax: 301-286-9225
E-mail:

Michael G. Ball, CCD Eastern Region,
MSFC Special Agent
NASA Office of Inspector General, CCD
Mail Stop M-DI, Building 4201
P.O. Box 9032
Marshall Space Flight Center, AL 35812-0001
Voice: 256-544-5241; Fax: 256-544-0423
E-mail: mball@nasa.gov

Matthew J. Swenson, CCD Western Region,
JPL Resident Agent in Charge
NASA Office of Inspector General
Western Region Computer Crimes Division
Jet Propulsion Laboratory
4800 Oak Grove Drive, MS 180-205
Pasadena, CA 91109-8099
Voice: 818-354-9768; Fax: 818-393-3000
E-mail: Matthew.J.Swenson@nasa.gov

Ryan D. Pittman, CCD Western Region,
ARC Special Agent
NASA Office of Inspector General, CCD
MS 207-11 (Investigations)
Moffett Federal Airfield, CA 94035-1000
Voice: 650-604-5442; Fax: 650-604-3955
E-mail: ryan.d.pittman@nasa.gov