NASA - National Aeronautics and Space Administration
A B C D E F G H I
J K L M N O P Q R
S T U V W X Y Z
Aeronautics
Anniversaries
Biographies
Centers & Offices
Exploration
Human Spaceflight
Photo-Video
Reference
Satellites
Space Biology
Space Policy
Space Science



 
 


NACA/NASA Records at NARA

Many of the records created by federal agencies are stored by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) at facilities in the Washington, DC area and in several major cities throughout the country. For purposes of administrative control, the records of each agency are assigned to a unique "record group" and NASA's are in Record Group 255. Some of the records of agencies, generally less than 3%, have enough research value that they are transferred to NARA's legal custody and are saved permanently. (see NARA's regional home page).

Almost 120,000 cubic feet of NACA and NASA records are being stored in eight NARA facilities (see Neat Stuff About the Right Stuff). This includes more than 5,000 cubic feet of historical material that is in NARA's legal custody and is open to the public (see the RG255 guide). For information regarding NARA's holdings for specific NASA field centers please see the following.

NASA Field Center Contact Information
Ames Research Center NARA - San Francisco
Dan Nealand at 650-238-3478
Daniel.nealand@nara.gov
Armstrong Flight Research Facility NARA - Laguna Niguel (Los Angeles)
Paul Wormser at 949-360-2640
Paul.wormser@nara.gov
Glenn Research Center NARA - Chicago
Dougle Bicknese at 773-948-9009
Douglas.bicknese@nara.gov
Goddard Space Flight Center NARA - College Park, MD
Sharon Thibodeau 301-837-3047
Sharon.thibodeau@nara.gov
Jet Propulsion Laboratory NARA - Laguna Niguel (Los Angeles)
Paul Wormser at 949-360-2640
Paul.wormser@nara.gov
Johnson Space Center NARA - Fort Worth
Meg Hacker at 817-931-5643
Meg.hacker@nara.gov
Kennedy Space Center NARA - Atlanta
Richard Rayburn at 770-968-2525
Richard.rayburn@nara.gov
Langley Research Center

NARA - Philadelphia
Leslie Simon at 215-606-0101
Leslie.simon@nara.gov

Marshall Space Flight Center NARA - Atlanta
Richard Rayburn at 770-968-2525
Richard.rayburn@nara.gov
NASA Headquarters NARA - College Park, MD
Sharon Thibodeau at 301-837-3047
Sharon.thibodeau@nara.gov
Stennis Space Center NARA - Atlanta
Richard Rayburn at 770-968-2525
Richard.rayburn@nara.gov

Other On-line Archival Collection Descriptions

Steve Garber, NASA History Web Curator

For further information email histinfo@hq.nasa.gov

 ADA Navigation
About Us | What's New | Publications | Researching NASA History | News letter/Annual Reports | Center History Offices | Topical Index | Common Topics/FAQ | Contact Us